The Student News Site of GEMS American Academy

GAA Roars

GAA Roars

GAA Roars

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.

Rugby World Cup Roundup


This year’s Rugby World Cup was the tenth edition of the esteemed international men’s rugby union competition. France was the host nation for this quadrennial competition. This year’s tournament ran from September 8 to October 28. Twenty countries competed for rugby glory, with South Africa defending their title as the current champions.

20 teams participate in this event: South Africa, New Zealand, Italy, Uruguay, Namibia, Ireland, Scotland, Tonga, Romania, Wales, Australia, Fiji, Georgia, Portugal, England, Japan, Argentina, Samoa, Chile and France.  The Rugby World Cup of 2023 has an outstanding roster of 20 strong teams prepared to compete for the title. Traditional rugby heavyweights like South Africa, New Zealand, Ireland, and England were among the competitors. Passionate teams such as Chile, Uruguay, and Namibia will be competing alongside them, offering excitement and surprise. The wide range of participating countries guaranteed an exciting and unforgettable World Cup, filled with competitive games and a celebration of national pride.

The goal of the The Rugby World Cup is to establish a prominent global rugby union arena where the best teams in the world could play against each other. This helped the sport flourish and prosper, in addition to raising its stature. In addition, the competition sought to bring cultures and nations together by encouraging goodwill and sportsmanship among the participating nations. It celebrated the common love of rugby and brought together supporters and players from many backgrounds, fostering respect and appreciation for one another. The start of the Rugby World Cup in 1987 was a significant turning point in the history of the game. This quadrennial competition, which was hosted by Australia and New Zealand, brought together countries from all over the world to play in the exciting and physically taxing sport of rugby union. The New Zealand All Blacks emerged victorious from the tournament’s first 16 teams, ushering in a long-lasting legacy of intense rivalry and friendship. Since its start, the Rugby World Cup has gained popularity and is now regarded as one of the biggest athletic occasions globally, exhibiting the talent and fervor of rugby players.

The Rugby World Cup final between South Africa and New Zealand took place on October 28. This was a battle to remember, and one that was much anticipated between these two teams. Both sides performed admirably in every aspect of the game, making it an extremely tight and exciting encounter for the spectators. However, there can only be one winner in the end, and South Africa won this Rugby World Cup, defeating New Zealand by a point with a total score of 12-11. Fans are eager to witness their next World Cup victory in four years, since this is their second consecutive one.

View Comments (2)
More to Discover

Comments (2)

All GAA Roars Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • R

    Ryan ThatcherNov 2, 2023 at 4:03 am

    Go Springboks!
    Very comprehensive article Leo.

  • M

    mariah jean kraeuterNov 1, 2023 at 10:31 am

    this article is really well thought and very entertaining and has a lot of information
    thank you leo smit